November 20, 2019

Please reload

Recent Posts

Emma Hooper wins the Frank Hegyi Award

June 11, 2017

Please reload

Featured Posts

Frank Hegyi Award Long List at the Wakefield Writers Festival

April 22, 2017


The Ottawa Independent Writers (OIW) has teamed up with the Wakefield Writers Festival to announce the Long List for the 2017 Frank Hegyi Award for Emerging Authors. Be the first to hear who made the list at the festival's kick-off Writers Pride event on May 3, 2017 at Café Molo,  1 Valley Drive, Wakefield, Quebec.


The evening starts at 7 pm and features readings from Claude Weil, Raouf Omar, Gaye Chicoine, David Sachs, R.J. Harlick, Seymour Hamilton and Stéphanie Perreault. The evening is free and bilingual. At 8:30 pm, there will be the announcement of the long list. Only ten books out of the 41 submissions will make it to the long list. Visit the OIW website to see all the submissions. The Frank Hegyi Award's short list will then be announced at the OIW monthly program meeting on May 16, 2017, and the winner will be announced at the awards ceremony at 2 pm, June 10, 2017 on Stage Two at the Third Annual Prose in the Park Literary Festival in the Parkdale Park, Ottawa.


Media inquiries are welcome. Just send us an e-mail at

Share on Facebook
Share on Twitter
Please reload

Follow Us
Please reload

Search By Tags
Please reload