Contact person: Ian Shaw, Frank Hegyi Award Coordinator,




Ottawa, Ontario (August 15, 2018): The jury for the Frank Hegyi Award for Emerging Authors is pleased to announce the award's 2018 long list.


The Frank Hegyi Award is sponsored by OIW (Ottawa Independent Writers). Named after long-time OIW member and former treasurer, Frank Hegyi, the award carries a cash prize of $500 for the winner and two years of free OIW membership. Finalists will receive a year's free membership in the OIW. The Frank Hegyi Award is offered on an annual basis and alternates between fiction and non-fiction. The 2018 award is for non-fiction. The 2017 award was for fiction. The award is open to all Canadian citizens living anywhere or permanent residents of Canada or authors of any nationality whose submitted books had been first published by a Canadian publisher, and who had not already won a major national or provincial literary award.


Below is the 2018 Longlist:


Chasing Utopia: The Future of the Kibbutz in a Divided Israel by David Leach (ECW Press)

Dark Ambition: The Shocking Crime of Dellen Millard & Mark Smich  by Ann Brocklehurst (Penguin Random House Canada)

In the Black by B. Denham Jolly (ECW Press)

In the Name of Humanity by Max Wallace (Penguin Random House Canada)

Run Hide Repeat: A Memoir of a Fugitive Childhood by Pauline Dakin (Penguin Random House Canada)

The Patch: The People, Pipelines, and Politics of the Oil Sands by Chris Turner (Simon & Schuster)

Turning: A Memoir, A year in the Water by Jessica J. Lee (Penguin Random House Canada)

Unearthed: A Memoire by Alexandra Risen (Penguin Random House Canada)

Where I Live Now: A Journey Through Love and Loss to Healing and Hope by Sharon Butala (Simon & Schuster Canada)

Wrestling with Colonialism on Steroids: Quebec Inuit Fight for Their Homeland by Zebedee Nungak (Véhicule Press)


Our congratulations to all the longlisted authors.


The jurors for the 2018 award are:


Gerry Fostaty is a fiction and non-fiction writer. He is the winner of the 2016 Whistler Independent Book Award for Crime Fiction and the author of As You Were: The Tragedy at Valcartier (Goose Lane Editions) and Stage Business (Deux Voiliers Publishing). He is also a recipient of the Queen Elizabeth II Diamond Jubilee Medal.


Michael Mirolla is an award-winning novelist, short story writer, playwright, and poet. He is the winner of the 2016 Bressani Literary Prize for his short story collection Lessons in Relationship Dyads (Red Hen Press, 2015). In 2010, with business partner Connie McParland, Michael took over the reins at Guernica Editions, one of Canada's thriving independent presses.


Michael Springate is a novelist, playwright and screenwriter. He is the author of The Beautiful West & The Beloved of God (Guernica Editions), also published as L’engrenage des apparences (Les Éditions Sémaphore) His produced writing for theatre includes Historical Bliss, Dog and Crow, The Consolation of Philosophy, The Geese Sonnets, Freeport Texas, and Kut: Shock and Awe. His feature screenplay Bella Ciao! will premiere in Canada in late 2018.


The shortlist for the Frank Hegyi Award will be announced on September 7, 2018, and the winner will be announced at a special gala reception organized by OIW and graciously hosted by KPMG at its stunning 18th floor boardrooms at 150 Elgin Street, Ottawa on September 26, 2018. Admission to the gala reception is free and everyone is welcome, but please RSVP to the Eventbrite invitation here.


For more information on the Frank Hegyi Award, please visit the OIW website at: