The Short List for the Frank Hegyi Award

May 16, 2017 - Ottawa, Ontario

(For immediate release)

The Ottawa Independent Writers (OIW) is proud to announce that the following Canadian authors have been short-listed for the Frank Hegyi Award for Emerging Authors:

Joan Crate for Black Apple – Simon & Schuster Susan Doherty Hannaford for A Secret Music – Comorant Books Emma Hooper for Etta and Otto and Russell and James – Penguin Canada Eric Beck Rubin for School of Velocity – Doubleday Canada Andy Sinclair for Breathing Lessons – Véhicule Press

The Frank Hegyi Award is Canada's newest literary award. Named after long-time Ottawa Independent Writers member and former treasurer, Frank Hegyi, this new literary award carries a cash prize of $500. The award received forty eligible submissions in 2017. The award's short list was announced today (May 16, 2017) at the monthly meeting of the Ottawa Independent Writers ( The winner and finalists will be invited to read from their books at the Prose in the Park Literary Festival on June 10, 2017 (

The Frank Hegyi Award is offered on an annual basis and alternates between fiction and non-fiction. The 2017 award is for fiction. The award is open to all Canadian citizens living anywhere or permanent residents of Canada or authors of any nationality whose submitted books were first published by a Canadian publisher, and who have not already won a major national or provincial literary award.

For media inquiries, please contact

For more details on the Frank Hegyi Award can be found at:

143 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All